Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Live Training  (Read 752 times)

human_dictionary

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Live Training
« on: May 08, 2013, 01:29:42 pm »

i just started a new fort (I'm still relatively new to this) and i heard about people who trap animals like fleshballs to practice live training on them.

1. could someone give me a list on what animals are good for live training and for which weapons (preferably harmless ones, **FUN** management is not one of my strong points)

2. how do i capture wild animals, especially in caves?

3. how do i setup a room for live training?

Xinael

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Live Training
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2013, 02:15:01 pm »

1. It's hard to list them all because it depends on how your dwarves are armed and armoured. Most surface wildlife is okay, and invaders such as goblins that you've stripped of weapons. Flesh balls are good because they take forever to die, which is the main drawback of most live training exercises.

2. Make a cage and a mechanism. Build a cage trap somewhere. Wait for something interesting to stand on the trap. You now have a captive. There are methods for getting things to stand on them faster - build lots of them, build walls across areas so they have to path across the traps to get to other areas, if they're building destroyers you can coax them in with succulent furniture - but that's the gist.

3. Build a lever, build the cage with the animal in you want to train against. Link the lever to the cage. Station your dwarves next to the cage. Pull the lever. Having a strategy for getting wounded dwarves out and the training dummy back into its cage is a plus.

See also.

joeclark77

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2013, 02:32:25 pm »