Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: A New Beginning  (Read 772 times)

Dzlan

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
A New Beginning
« on: April 23, 2013, 11:52:29 pm »

A new Beginning

I've started playing Dwarf Fortress not too long ago, but over the last couple of months, I've started understanding what has been going on, quite naturally. Now, I can vaguely monitor my dwarfs just by watching where they run and what they do and just by pressing the U button regularly I can make sure they are on task.
In fact, I'm still new to the game, I haven't managed to get a self sustainable Fortress yet. But I'm certainly getting further each time. I've lost a lot but then again (Losing is Fun) : )
I'm about to start a whole new world, where I can start fresh, and will strive harder then before to succeed, cause now, When I'm not at school, or typing away at my creative writing, I'm generally found to be on Dwarf Fortress.
I have to call this the Best Game I've ever found. Even better then the good ol x-com (original) and Clonks games. Too bad my mates won't play it. I guess the game just isn't for some people.
Still, I'm having a blast on this. My favorite thing to do now when I want to be alone is fire up Dwarf Fortress, listening to music and watching them dig away at the rock. It's strangely calming.
Hey is it true the next update is estimated to be around 20 years? Lol, I read that somewhere but sure it was a joke...
Has anyone got some tips, like how to handle caverns? I dug into it, with Four rookie wrestlers (I didn't bring any military equipment with me) standing guard at the bottom. A bunch of Tigermen came at me, doing almost no damage, my Dwarves were wrestling them to death no problem, but it turned out the Cave Crocodile was a huge problem.