Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Original DF Integrated Soundtrack  (Read 655 times)

Porcelain

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Original DF Integrated Soundtrack
« on: April 30, 2013, 05:07:15 am »

I'm a recording artist form Australia and I was wondering what the possibility of an original Dwarf Fortress soundtrack is. I understand that as it is, there is third party java sound apps (which apparently chew through ram like there's no tomorrow) and Toady One is concentrating on gameplay elements right now.

I've recorded some classical tracks which I think would be a good musical accompaniment to DF, especially if there was a way to trigger certain tracks in certain situations (Siege=roaring LOTR-like track while a high death toll triggers some sadder music). Hopefully if it were outsourced it wouldn't take up valuable time that could be spent improving more important things.

Anyway I've uploaded one track. Imagine it playing soon after embark, during the summer when much toiling is to be done, and there is no foreseeable danger.
https://soundcloud.com/df-sountracks/df-classical

JanusTwoface

• Bay Watcher
  • murbleblarg
    • View Profile
    • jverkamp.com
Re: Original DF Integrated Soundtrack
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2013, 01:36:10 pm »

Sounds nice, although there's a fair bit of distortion at times. Is that on my end or was it recorded with that?

Mostly, I think the issues would be licensing and size.

It's probably less bad than code submissions (since music doesn't have to be updated), but I doubt Toady wants to deal with the headaches that music licensing can become. Still, doable.