Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Help- variable features within a race without castes  (Read 659 times)

Quailman

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Help- variable features within a race without castes
« on: November 19, 2012, 04:20:12 pm »

I am creating a mod which features a race similar in many ways to DnD Tieflings.  I want them to have a chance of having any combination of different features and mutations at birth.  For example, one might have a tail, another might have horns and claws, another might smell faintly of brimstone, and another might have all of the above.  I am pretty new to modding DF, but I understand that castes seem to be the primary method of doing this sort of thing.  However, it also seems that I would have to create millions of castes for this race if I wanted it to be possible for members of this race to have any possible combination of these mutations.

So I guess what I am asking is:
Is there a method of having specific traits appear or not appear randomly without creating a million different castes?

And if so, would these traits be able to include attacks, venoms, material emissions etc.?

i2amroy

• Bay Watcher
  • Cats, ruling the world one dwarf at a time
    • View Profile
Re: Help- variable features within a race without castes
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2012, 04:21:23 pm »

So I guess what I am asking is:
Is there a method of having specific traits appear or not appear randomly without creating a million different castes?
No.
And if so, would these traits be able to include attacks, venoms, material emissions etc.?
Yes.
Quote from: PTTG
It would be brutally difficult and probably won't work. In other words, it's absolutely dwarven!
Cataclysm: Dark Days Ahead - A fun zombie survival rougelike that I'm dev-ing for.

Lycaeon

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2012, 04:27:07 pm »