Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: DF Noob: Dwarves Dying of Dehydration...  (Read 13947 times)

TheZoobler

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
DF Noob: Dwarves Dying of Dehydration...
« on: October 27, 2012, 05:56:27 pm »

Hey, I just started playing the game about a day ago and have been following the Quickstart guide for Fortress mode on the wiki. Just about completed the guide, haven't made a forge or set up a medical dwarf yet.

My problem is that I've had 4 of my 45 dwarves die of dehydration, despite the fact that I have over 250 units of plump helmet booze (brewed and stored in barrels) and have a few above-ground pools designated as water sources. It continues to happen and I am not sure why.

I've also dug out a little cavern on the 3rd lower interior level of my fort, channeled it, and turned it into a 10x10ish pond: several overlapping pond zones in fact, so that multiple dwarves are hauling buckets at once. However the water appears to keep evaporating (I am in a temperate climate). I figured I could store water in the pond for winter, when all the other water freezes over. I have not yet designated this pond as a water source.

I saw other people on the forums requesting savefiles to help diagnose problems, so I will attach mine as soon as I figure out how. Lol. EDIT: Yep completely unsure of how to attach my save file/folder to a post lol.

NOOB WARNING : Since I'm a total beginner-
-I have a piteously small 4 dwarf military
-My building organization is probably totally inefficient
-My stairway goes straight down for about 7 levels and three of those levels contain large caverns which the stairway is exposed to: I built walls in an attempt to keep cavern creatures out of the fort, but it hasn't worked so far.
-I have done virtually no managing of my various dwarves and their labor menus. Need to get around to that.