Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Modding vampires/Iron  (Read 1065 times)

Vahir

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Modding vampires/Iron
« on: September 11, 2012, 02:19:40 pm »

1. Can you disable vampires, or make them similarily harmless? I'm relatively new to DF, and I've yet to make a fortress that hasn't died in the first few years. Having vampires out for my blood is a bit much.

2. Is there a way to find a location with a 100% chance of having Iron?

Quote from: Girlinhat
Yeah, used to be like you.  "Don't draft the mothers" and "Make sure that mood gets fulfilled!" and "He's tantruming, better make him happier and not order him killed" or "Leave the gate open!  The woodcutter is still running away from the ambush!" Then I started throwing children to their deaths in an ornate glass display case in the middle of the dining hall

thiosk

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Modding vampires/Iron
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2012, 02:34:46 pm »

No, Iron is one of those luck of the location thing.  I've found river sites tend to have good sedimentary layers.  I basically have ONLY iron, so I beg the dwarven caravans to bring me ANYTHING else.

Luckily I had enough tin cages from a big alpaca purchase that I was able to satisfy a mayoral demand.

As for vamps, have you encountered them yet? Dealing with them is part of the fun!!!  I'm sure I'll hate the first one that shows up, but I'm trying to figure out how to deal with it even now.

XXSockXX

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2012, 02:53:43 pm »

In worlds with shorter history you are less likely to encounter vampires. With 30-50 years you might get just one and with less history probably none at all.

Calech

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 11, 2012, 03:12:07 pm »