Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Question about trapping animals.  (Read 1292 times)

Autumn

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
Question about trapping animals.
« on: March 28, 2012, 09:53:08 am »

Hello there. I have been playing DF for a few months now most of this has been spend lurking here and reading the wiki both of which has taught me alot so thank you.

Anyhow I have started a new fort in savage temperate grassland. My goal was to try to catch, train and breed some war Lions or Cheetahs and to this end I have set up some cage traps. I have placed five cage traps in each corner of the map and then towards the maps center but spaced well apart I have three "bait" traps which involve a chained cat with 3x3 space surrounded by cage traps in an 5x5 square (so 18 traps). I then check the "u" menu reguarly to see what wild animals are on my map and get an idea of how effective my traps are being.

So far the cage traps catch most of what enters the map. I have yet over 3 years to see any Lions or Cheetahs appear so my catches involve animal men, lots of vultures, a few giant mantis, gazelles and the odd honey badger. This has lead to me wondering a few things.

1) How rare are lions and jaguars? will be waiting a long time before seeing them?

2) I dont mind the animals I catch as I can use them for tameing practice and then butcher/sell them easily but the amount of animal men I am catching is just insane and they are clogging up valuable space (untill I finish my pitt/murder room). Ideally I would want to set up my traps so they will only catch any Lions or Cheetahs that stumble across them. I have never seen it on the wiki or here but is there a design people use using weighted pressure plates to only allow cage traps to catch certain types of animal?   

Girlinhat

• Bay Watcher
  • [PREFSTRING:large ears]
    • View Profile
Re: Question about trapping animals.