Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Few questions  (Read 1404 times)

Wolfy

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Few questions
« on: February 28, 2012, 08:33:55 am »

I’ve been playing DF off and on for a few years, taught myself most of it, and taught the rest form the rare friend who played. But some things I can’t figure out, like for one; I’m trying to get more fuel.  I always seem to run out and if I burn wood then I run out of that to.
Then there is the matter of migrants, I only get one or two waves always, never more. Is this a glitch or is my civ dying every time?  (Read: is it a known thing to happen by a glitch or am I just unlucky)

Last but not least, military, I feel like I’m out side of a joke here, is it just me or is it harder then most things in DF easily?
First thing I do is set them to Squads, and set up a barracks, then set their times to train with only  3-5 of  them needed to train, depends on how many are in said squad.
All they ever seem to do is train them self’s and not get anywhere, do training weapons work for training or is that my problem?  Next part of them is using them as hunters. I find the way they hunt impossible to catch anything that does not want to be caught. Basically, if it runs it gets away, however with hunters they CAN catch things but I find they tend to unlike said military hunt something bigger then them, you can’t turn them off, bad thoughts, and many more problems (and that’s if they even attempt to hunt!)

Which one is better?

Wolfie.
I'm a bad speller, no amount of telling me how bad I am is going to make me better. People have been trying for over two decades. English is hard for me, its like how some cant get math, i cant get English.

Yaotzin

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Few questions
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2012, 08:37:40 am »