Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Irrigation  (Read 1266 times)

Captain Hat

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Irrigation
« on: November 09, 2007, 10:19:00 pm »

Right... I started playing DF this summer, thought it was a great game with the most depth and complexity I had ever seen, and now I am stuck. Irrigation is my number one enemy, it refuses to work for me, see my illustration below, I am using the outside river as my water source, just to get started. I've got the mechanism hooked up to the floodgate, and it opens and closes correctly, but the water won't flow out!!! I've had a look at the wiki, which has changed since I last saw it, but it was of little or no help . The illustration below shows my method, it is all on the same level. Your comments would be appreciated.

key:

# <-- Wall
_ <-- Channel
X <-- Floodgate
~ <-- Water
. <-- Ground
% <-- Lever
D <-- Door

//
########.%#
########D##
#.................#
#.................#
#.................#........~~~~~
#.................#........~~~~~
#.................X_________~~~~~
#.................#........~~~~~~~~
###########
//

[ November 09, 2007: Message edited by: Captain Hat ]
EDIT: Had to add dots to fix things, seems that the board ignores whitespace

[ November 09, 2007: Message edited by: Captain Hat ]

Garthor

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Irrigation
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2007, 10:34:00 pm »

That is all from the old version.  In the new version, you can just drop a farm on any soil.  Irrigation is only needed for farming on rock, which is not necessary.

The problem you're having, by the way, is that your stuff is on level z, and your water is on z-1.  So, the water stays where it is.  You'd need a pump (but the water is unnecessary here anyway, so this is purely academic).

DrMorbly

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 10, 2007, 06:15:00 pm »