Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Sparring in the barracks - how?  (Read 1615 times)

Splendid Belt

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Sparring in the barracks - how?
« on: November 08, 2007, 05:10:00 am »

I've been playing the game for a few months now on and off, and have still never seen a single member of my miitary ever bother to train / spar.  In my current game I have a barracks set up, two recruits (not that far into the game, only got about 37 dwarves in total) who both have decent weapons and armour, but as far as I can see they never even visit the barracks.  Their military skills are all listed as 'dabbling'.

Oh and one more question - when you build a road, does it have to lead right up to your entrance?  I've not so cunningly built my trade depot right in front of my gates, so this could be problematic...

Akael

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Sparring in the barracks - how?
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2007, 05:20:00 am »

To make dwarves spar, they need a barracks with a lot of free room. At least 6x6, I think. And they need to be off duty, make sure to check their squad with [m] [v].

A road is only really needed until it's a clear stretch to your entrance, as it only comes in handy with human wagons that need to dodge around trees and such. A road just clears the way so they can make it to your entrance faster.

saijonas

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2007, 05:29:00 am »

I've seen dwarves sparring in a 1*3 (3 tile) armory and a 3*3 (9 tile) barracks.
The thing's that I've noticed stopped them from sparring was having one with a weapon and one without, xbow dwarves still don't seem to spar (but will target shoot), and being on duty stops them from sparring, as mentioned by Akol.

Shades

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2007, 05:42:00 am »