Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: A lazy newb's first hand experience with DF  (Read 1246 times)

rosareven

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
A lazy newb's first hand experience with DF
« on: September 29, 2011, 05:42:30 pm »

Hi all,

I am a 21st century lazy newb, who grew up with Age of Empire 2, Diablo 2, eventually today's MMORPGS, and just started trying out DF with the lazy newb pack. I'm not an ASCII graphic fan when it comes to games, I use the graphic packs just so I can look at a more graphical interface, I'm slow on the hotkeys and have to look at the menu all the time, I am utterly confused with things in the game and have to constantly rely on the wiki, I worried about the difficulty and I am one of those who wish there is a point n click interface.

All that being said, I'm still hooked with the game anyway because of one thing: losing isn't as easy as people make it out to be. I went ahead with my very first dwarf fortress under the first few paragraphs of guidance from the wiki's quick start guide, choosing a calm biome and all that, then I only planted a few farms beside digging a huge area out of the mountain. One in-game year has passed now and I'm surprised to see that every dwarves are still at least content and no real threat has been going on. I even purposely commanded a miner to dig through a damp stone to let a lake flood in, but instead of flooding the cave it just irrigated the floor and made it farm-able. I have no active still to make more beer, the only food source is my plume helmet farm that is now gigantic because of the unintended irrigation, but I am still not in any immediate danger and I have a lot of time to try all the buildings and most of the functions.