Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: How to Power Pump Stacks?  (Read 3120 times)

AllThingsLive

• Bay Watcher
  • Damn, I'm a sexy bitch!
    • View Profile
How to Power Pump Stacks?
« on: July 24, 2011, 02:53:56 pm »

I'm relatively new to Dwarf Fortress, and recently decided that it's time to conclude my initiation and finally build a magma-safe pump stack. I know how to build pump stacks, but there's one problem I want to ask before I go ahead with the 40z transfer of molten stone - how do you power the stack? Do you just have one dwarf pump the bottom one (Or top one?) and then that power permeates throughout the whole thing? I know that each pump uses 10 power, so can a dwarf generate the 400 power needed to power the whole stack? Or do I have to have a dwarf maybe pump every 10th pump? I guess the real question here is how much power does a screw-pump pumping dwarf generate?
If you haven't already, you MUST listen to the Joe Rogan Experience : http://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/the-joe-rogan-experience/id360084272

Girlinhat

• Bay Watcher
  • [PREFSTRING:large ears]
    • View Profile
Re: How to Power Pump Stacks?
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2011, 02:58:01 pm »

A dwarf on a pump powers that pump.

What you're looking for are windmills and gear assemblies.  Wiki it and get back to us.

jellsprout

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
"Having been equipped with tracking collars so their migration and survival in the wild can be measured, the young Sea Serpent is released into the wild.  It is hoped that this captive breeding program will boost their terribly low population numbers and eventually see them removed from the endangered species list..."

BloodBeard

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2011, 04:10:31 pm »

Must... resist... pitching... super-reactor...
« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2011, 04:29:18 pm »

Must... resist... pitching... super-reactor...