Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Purging the dead?  (Read 683 times)

Vhorthex

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
    • The Medieval Nerd - Youtube Page
Purging the dead?
« on: April 26, 2011, 11:19:12 am »

Hello everyone,

I was wondering if there was a way to clear the deceased list in the units? I mean, I've been playing this fort for 10 years (dwarf time :P) and let me tell you, the list is insanely long. I just have a feeling that it's not helping with the FPS's lol.

Can I clear it manually?
Vhorthex
Patience is a virtue.

Miss old PC-DOS gamse? Check out my YouTube page for 10 Minute videos of ye olde games!

http://www.youtube.com/user/TheMedievalNerd?feature=mhum

Reelyanoob

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Purging the dead?
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2011, 11:41:35 am »

I avoid hunting, butchery and big animal herds in my recent forts for this reason, but it still grows way too fast.

Really? I need separate listing for every tame goat I ever slaughter?

Sphalerite

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
    • Drew's Robots and stuff
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2011, 11:41:51 am »

No.  In Dwarf fortress every creature that has ever died is on that list forever.
Any intelligent fool can make things bigger and more complex... It takes a touch of genius --- and a lot of courage to move in the opposite direction.

Reelyanoob

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2011, 11:58:23 am »

Maybe abandon and reclaim would be the only way to clean this up. Using DFLair (part of DFHack) so things don't get messed up.

I'd demolish all my corpses + those in the graveyard before this though.

What would be really nice though, is an app which extracts all your dwarves' data, then injects them into another map. Possibly taking pets too.
« Last Edit: April 26, 2011, 12:02:27 pm by Reelyanoob »

Necro910

• Bay Watcher
  • Legendary Drunk +5
    • View Profile