Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Newbie questions  (Read 625 times)

CriticallyAshamed

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Newbie questions
« on: April 23, 2011, 11:33:54 pm »

Hey guys, newbie here. I've read the wiki and am having an -alright- time with my first fortress (it's in a stupid place but meh). I'm breeding up chickens for food but none of them seem to be breeding. I have 4 nesting boxes and 3 hens and they just stand around their pen all day. As soon as I built the nests, the chickens swarmed to it and started laying however I wasn't quick enough in forbiding the eggs and I didn't get any chickens from it. Now the eggs are in a barrel. What's going on here?

Apart from this, I've noticed my farmers tend to do a crazy little ritual where they'll plant plump helmets for a bit then decide that they don't need to anymore even though it's a huge field and there's a lot more seeds. I have all the labours enabled but they're just kinda sitting around being lazy?

Lectorog

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie questions
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2011, 11:50:46 pm »

The eggs are being taken and put into food storage (though cannot be eaten raw). If you want to use these eggs for more chickens, lock the birds in a room; this way, the eggs can't be accessed until you want them to and you can keep track of your growing population.
I, personally, just use the eggs produced for food and buy new birds as desired, to add variety. Either way, both the eggs and their makers provide good food.

As for the farms, I've seen the same problems. If the farmers aren't actually doing other jobs at the time, I'd suggest just waiting for them to get around to planting. Make sure they're not doing any jobs, and that the farms are fully accessible.

Nidokoenig

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2011, 12:02:31 am »