Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Entire System Crash  (Read 401 times)

Setzer

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
Entire System Crash
« on: February 26, 2008, 10:55:00 am »

Hello. First time poster, though I've been playing for a few months. Or trying to.

Pretty much, I'll be in the process of building a Fortress, and my entire computer shuts off. No error message, no sounds, it just flat out shuts off. Nothing triggers it, from what I can tell, and it only happens while playing DF. There's no determining factor, and how long it takes to happen varies. But it inevitably happens.

Anyone know a remedy, or is this a new one?

Wiles

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Entire System Crash
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2008, 10:56:00 am »

Could your computer be overheating?

axus

• Bay Watcher
  • Axe Murderer
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2008, 01:03:00 pm »

Turn off overclocking if you're doing that.  My computer isn't overclocked, but I was having crash problems when my RAM timing was at the max it was rated for.  I dialed it back to average, and the problems went away.  It was strange because I didn't have crashes for 2 years prior, I think the 3D version just hits the computer very hard.

PTTG??

• Bay Watcher
  • Kringrus! Babak crulurg tingra!
    • View Profile
    • http://www.nowherepublishing.com
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2008, 01:28:00 pm »

First, welcome to the fourms! To answer your question, it sounds like you have one of two problems:
a: Overheating, probably on your CPU try running other power-hungry programs and seeing for the same behavior, and look up Speedfan, which lets you see the temperature of your system.
b: The power outlet your computer is attached too is connected to a wall switch...
A thousand million pool balls made from precious metals, covered in beef stock.

Captain Goatse

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile