Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: So... about ice.  (Read 1178 times)

acehawk

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
So... about ice.
« on: April 11, 2011, 05:34:07 pm »

Well I'm in a temperate climate and as I have an aquifer 3 layers down I have zero access to stone. While I have just recently gotten in a shipment so I can start makeing mechanisms for scew pumps and all, I have an urge to build an overground fortress out of ice. Now, I'm in a temperate climate so my question is will what I construct out of ice melt? I read on the wiki that things such as walls won't, but what about floors, bridges, and roads? And can ice blocks be made? Also, if smoothed and engraved will natural ice floors and walls melt? (I assume so but it doesn't hurt to ask, nor does it hurt to try myself  :P)

Also, any advice on breaching the aquifer? I have no experience there haha.

AdeleneDawner

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: So... about ice.
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2011, 05:41:05 pm »

Anything constructed with [b ][C] won't melt. Any natural ice will melt, even if it's engraved. I don't know about roads or bridges. I think ice counts as economic and can't be toggled, so you most likely can't make blocks or other items out of it.

There've been a few good threads around on aquifers recently, and I think the wiki has been updated with the new techniques that people have been working with. Try there.
Dying (ceasing to be alive) is also not a Moodable skill. Even totally unskilled Dwarves seem to do it correctly.

JmzLost

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2011, 06:13:16 pm »

This thread has some good methods for breaching an aquifer without knowing how deep it is, and without making large holes in the surface.  The method suggested by QuantumMenace can be done without mechanisms, using wooden pumps, logs for the walls, and powering the pumps with dwarfs.