Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: A couple Of Noob Questions  (Read 585 times)

farm the man

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
A couple Of Noob Questions
« on: December 19, 2010, 12:55:26 am »

Ok, I'm completely new to this game and on my 2nd functioning fortress. It's 2 years old and from the start I planned on basing my economy on having a breeding population of cats and butchering their kittens as a neverending source of food,skins and bones. But, I haven't been getting much actual food from butchering cats.
Is this a viable food source, or should I be boring and breed cows? On a related note, can animals breed in cages? Finally, what's the point of building stockpiles deep underground? you dig out all the rock, and then have to use up all of the space you just carved out to hold the rocks you produced.
It might help if you tip the balance, and use burrows to force your desired pedophilia couple together.

Holy shit, did I just say that?

rephikul

• Bay Watcher
  • [CURIOUSBEAST_IDEA]
    • View Profile
Re: A couple Of Noob Questions
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2010, 01:12:01 am »

Ok, I'm completely new to this game and on my 2nd functioning fortress. It's 2 years old and from the start I planned on basing my economy on having a breeding population of cats and butchering their kittens as a neverending source of food,skins and bones. But, I haven't been getting much actual food from butchering cats. Is this a viable food source, or should I be boring and breed cows?
Cat are at least 10 times smaller then cows which's about 3 times smaller then elephants.

On a related note, can animals breed in cages?
Grow up, yes. Deliver babies, yes. Getting pregged, no.

Finally, what's the point of building stockpiles deep underground?