Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Dropping Stuff  (Read 891 times)

beefforyou

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Dropping Stuff
« on: December 15, 2010, 08:57:04 pm »

Hello,
I just started playing Dwarf Fortress, and I'm so far enjoying it. But, I was curious as to how I could drop stuff. I don't mean as in stockpiles, I mean as in throwing goblins off of 20 z-level high towers. And throwing objects/enemies into magma, for example.

Thanks, Nic

OmnipotentGrue

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Dropping Stuff
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2010, 09:06:30 pm »

If you designate a garbage dump (using the 'i' menu) next to an open space I believe it makes dwarves throw dump-designated objects into the open space - as for enemies, I'm pretty sure it's something similar to that, and I know it's possible, however I'm not exactly sure of the process.

Welcome to the forums, by the way.

Jorshamo

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2010, 09:11:43 pm »

For creatures, it's similar. Create a zone over open space, but is adjacent to walkable ground. Press p to mark as a pit/pond. Press P to open information, and select the creature you want in the pit, as you would for a cage.

beefforyou

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 15, 2010, 09:12:46 pm »

Thank you.

I actually figured it out myself  :) But I still don't know how to throw enemies. Oh, and when I try and make a dump into a pond, everything except for "pit/pond" is grayed out when using the zones menu.

Edit: Oh okay, thanks for the help guys.

OmnipotentGrue

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: December 15, 2010, 09:17:07 pm »

For garbage dumps you have to make them on floors, and as long as there is open space next to the floor they will throw the items into the open space.

beefforyou

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile