Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Tired of waiting forever to play Fortress Mode? Read on!  (Read 2248 times)

Dragonchampion

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Tired of waiting forever to play Fortress Mode? Read on!
« on: November 27, 2010, 03:59:00 pm »

Hello, everyone. I am a newb. Both to the forums, and to the game itself. I have always found DF lacking, not for lack of features, mind you, but lack of one thing:

Speed.

There is no fast forward key, and those tedious tasks can sometimes take forever.

Well, if you are a newbie as well, then do I have something good for you!

Note however, that it requires editing the raws, so if that isn't your thing, or you don't know how, just hit "Back" now.

For the rest of you, follow these instructions:

1. Open the Dwarf Fortress install directory
2. Go into the "raws" folder
3. Enter the "objects" folder
4. Open the file named "creatures_standard" with Notepad or a similar program.
5. scroll down or use "find" to find the FIRST instance of  [SWIM_SPEED:2500]
6. Make a new line BEFORE this tag.
7. Add in the tag [SPEED:1]
8. Enjoy your sped up game!

Please note that there are the following bugs with this method of speeding up the game:

1. Dwarves perform most tasks, especially mining, extremely fast
2. Dwarf Therapist randomly selects dwarves to show instead of all of them
3. Dwarves are EXTREMELY hard to select normally, without pausing, and even with pausing it is difficult.

All newbies, enjoy; and those who knew this already, any tips and any idea of how to fix Dwarf Therapist.

tehc

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Tired of waiting forever to play Fortress Mode? Read on!
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2010, 04:02:38 pm »

I thought this has been pretty widespread knowledge for a while

Also [SPEED:0] is even faster.

Urist McUristy

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2010, 04:02:42 pm »