Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: So, no enemies  (Read 2623 times)

mowers

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
So, no enemies
« on: August 10, 2010, 03:35:10 pm »

So i just started playing, its my third game and I have been attacked once.

So I started again and this time in untamed wilderness, I have about 30 dwarfs but no one has attacked me.

Is this normal? When will attacks start?

existent

• Bay Watcher
  • I Watch Bays
    • View Profile
Re: So, no enemies
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2010, 03:36:59 pm »

Varies. Maybe in ten minutes, maybe never.
[DF 0.31.13]  ۝ War of the Ring Mod ۝  [WotR 0.13.3]

War of the Ring is back baby!
A mod based on Lord of the Rings, by JRR Tolkien.

FleshForge

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2010, 03:48:01 pm »

I had one fort way out in the cold side of the map and never got any invaders at all.  Also had a map where I got no caravans at all!  Neither scenario is a lot of fun.

Foehamster

• Bay Watcher
  • Zig Frostrushes The Speachless Eater of Saints
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2010, 03:51:50 pm »

Usually you won't be attacked by anything other than wild animals until the 2nd year(if you grow fast) or later if you're building slower.

Also you need to make sure there are enemy civilizations(kobolds and goblins) near where you embarked. You can also instigate war by murdering elven and/or human caravans for a few years.  Otherwise start digging, foul things live in the underdark, ruled only by shadow and flame.

Oh also your generated world might not have enough conflict the default settings in the current version tends to separate civilizations with large seas.

ventuz

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 10, 2010, 08:34:33 pm »

Like what Foehamster said, you need to check for enemy civ on embark location screen, by pressing TAB. Enemy civ has red dashes.

slothen