Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Beginner map?  (Read 617 times)

kralv

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
Beginner map?
« on: July 09, 2010, 05:32:21 pm »

Hi I am relatively new to DF and I am having trouble generating a map/finding a place I'd like to build my dwarfy kingdom.  Basically I want there to be some trees, no aquifer, mild temp and flux stone.  The search function doesn't let you search for amount of trees in an area as far as I know and everytime a match is found with the others there are no trees xD.  Also, it seems like the white highlighted minerals are not always flux stones themselves but "can" contain flux stone (ie mudstone) which I have had no luck in finding.  Is there anyway to do a more specific search or have more control over the map generation? Or maybe even where to download an easier map or something?  Any help appreciated thanks.

rodya_mirov

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Beginner map?
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2010, 05:46:47 pm »

To get trees, just search for rainfall:moderate (or high) and temperature:medium.  Usually this gets you near a forest; after it puts you somewhere just hunt around manually to find a forest locale.  I've never seen a map without *any* flux but it's worth looking for a chalk/marble/etc. layer on top.  Just hunt around.  Finder gets you started but it doesn't have to stop there.

existent

• Bay Watcher
  • I Watch Bays
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2010, 10:21:10 pm »

I never use the search function. Just look around yourself until you find something you like.
[DF 0.31.13]  ۝ War of the Ring Mod ۝  [WotR 0.13.3]

War of the Ring is back baby!
A mod based on Lord of the Rings, by JRR Tolkien.

UmbrageOfSnow

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2010, 10:29:59 pm »