Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Changing/Adding Animals to the Embark Screen?  (Read 847 times)

snbdwt

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
Changing/Adding Animals to the Embark Screen?
« on: July 04, 2010, 09:43:14 pm »

Let me preface this by saying that I'm rather recent to DF, and a complete noob at modding it. If this is just impossible, please don't mind me. Haha.
I was curious if you can change or add animals to the embark screen? Specifically dragons haha I thought it would be fun.

Thanks,
SNBDWT

NewsMuffin

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Changing/Adding Animals to the Embark Screen?
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2010, 10:34:29 pm »

I'm not 100% sure, but give this a try.
Go into creature_standard.txt (or wherever the dragon entry is. Press control+f to find it in the file.), find [PET_EXOTIC] in the dragon entry, replace it with [PET], and then add [COMMON_DOMESTIC]. It might also need a [MUNDANE] tag, but I'm not sure. Good luck.
EDIT: Dragons are already trainable.
Also, try this with bronze colossus. Make sure you set the pet value of both to something like 20, because you probably don't have enough dwarfbucks to pay for two. Also, you'll want to make them breedable. Do this by adding
[BABY:1]
[GENERAL_CHILD_NAME:drake:drakes]
General Child Name should only be added to dragons.
« Last Edit: July 04, 2010, 10:40:01 pm by NewsMuffin »

snbdwt

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2010, 10:42:32 pm »

Alright awesome! I'll give it a shot! Thanks!

EDIT: It didn't work :/ Any other suggestions?
« Last Edit: July 04, 2010, 10:47:23 pm by snbdwt »

NewsMuffin

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 04, 2010, 10:47:39 pm »

If you still need help, this should be what the dragon entry looks like when you're finished.
Spoiler (click to show/hide)
The tags I put in/edited are at the top.