Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Making a Video Let's Play / Livestream?  (Read 1475 times)

Pathos

Making a Video Let's Play / Livestream?
« on: June 26, 2010, 12:22:49 pm »

So, what do people usually use to record the games and their microphones at the same time? And / or do it livestream?

Thanks in advance, ladies. 8)

EDIT: My main problem is the combination of recording both voice and video, and being able to make it small enough to fit on YouTube (in individual chunks of ten minutes, obviously). I am an absolute beginner at this.
« Last Edit: June 26, 2010, 02:16:03 pm by Pathos »

Moogie

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Making a Video Let's Play / Livestream?
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2010, 12:34:47 pm »

What I usually do is have the volume control set up to use "What U Hear" as its Recording source. Then you just have your mic on Line In and everything your soundcard produces is then broadcast; mic, system and all.

For capture software on a PC, you might want to try ManyCam at first. If performance is too laggy with that, VH Screen Capture is a much more powerful tool, but may take a while to configure properly. I'm using ManyCam right now (literally at this very moment, as it happens, lol) because VH's drivers are a bit fubared on my system at the moment.

Streaming from a console requires a Dazzle capture card or similar. I use an old Hauppauge 1100 TV card, though the quality is bad and there's a nasty video delay.

Hope that helps a bit, other more experienced LPers may give some better input.
I once shot a bear in the eye with a bow on the first shot, cut it up, found another one, and shot it in the eye too. The collective pile of meat weighed more than my house.

Pathos

« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2010, 01:59:43 pm »