Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: How is Poland?  (Read 665 times)

smigenboger

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
How is Poland?
« on: April 28, 2010, 02:54:37 pm »

Sort of as a follow-up, how has Poland been faring lately? Did you guys have any serious problems following the tragedy, is everything relatively stable?

And how have the civilians been feeling about the whole thing?
While talking to AJ:
In college I studied the teachings of Socrates and Aeropostale

Il Palazzo

• Bay Watcher
  • And lo, the Dude did abide. And it was good.
    • View Profile
Re: How is Poland?
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2010, 03:21:35 pm »

Everything is working just fine. While the crash was pretty disasterous in it's sheer number of killed officials, it wasn't anything that could undermine the country's stability. There were proper procedures and proper people ready to take over, just like in every other country.
Political scene is recovering pretty fast as well. Mr. Jarosław Kaczyński, our late president's twin brother, even decided to run for the presidency, so we might actually have the same face taking over again. Things like this - only in Poland.

The media and the public, however, got a really bad case of patriotic madness. Every single politician on the plane, no matter how much ridiculed when alive, became a saint and a paragon of every positive personal characteristic you can think of.
Late Mr.Kaczyński's presidency, in polls submitted weeks before crash, was judged negatively by half the populace, with about a quarter thinking it was good. Now the same question returns exactly an opposite answer, and everyone thinks it's ok.

ed: grammar
« Last Edit: April 28, 2010, 06:43:11 pm by Il Palazzo »

Toady Two

• Bay Watcher
  • [CAN_SCIENCE]
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2010, 06:49:29 am »