Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Newbie with Impossible Mega Construction Dreams?  (Read 587 times)

Bronze Dog

• Bay Watcher
  • Kobold Sympathizer
    • View Profile
Newbie with Impossible Mega Construction Dreams?
« on: April 20, 2010, 09:28:36 pm »

I'm still a newbie at DF, but I have a few ideas for stuff I'd like to build.

---

You're leading your caravan through the desert toward a fortress known as Sandcage the Time-Keeper. Over the horizon, you see a gleaming tower of some sort. As you get closer, you recognize it for what it is: An enormous, clear hourglass. As you ride towards the trade depot, you pass a number of smaller hourglass-shaped towers and see the appraising eyes of elite marksdwarfs, ready to unleash a rain of bolts at the slightest sign of goblin treachery. Passing in winding paths over the tops of these towers is a raised aquifer, freely moving river water through a display of dwarven mastery over the elements, forcing the water into right angle turns.

---

Okay, so I felt like getting a little artistic. The "hourglass" shape I'm going for is something along the lines of a pair of pyramids or cones joined at the tips. Since the DF wiki tells me that walls can't be built on top of constructed floors (unless said floors are the result of a wall on the level below), I don't think I can make a hollow pyramid shape, and if I go for a solid pyramid, I still don't think I could build an inverted one on top. Does anyone know a way I could work around this problem?
Bronze Dog has been feeling rather happy lately. He is fond of scimitars, black bronze, turquoise, and kobolds for their underdog status.

Max White

• Bay Watcher
  • Still not hollowed!
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie with Impossible Mega Construction Dreams?
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2010, 09:39:47 pm »

Why sure you can make it hollow!