Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: no seeds or booze on embark  (Read 1396 times)

Fisbik

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
no seeds or booze on embark
« on: April 18, 2010, 07:14:51 pm »

Hey everybody!  Been playing since version 0.28 or the later 0.27s (don't remember) but now I'm having an issue to which I can't find an answer:

In 31.03, more often than not upon embark, there are no seeds or booze available.  If I have a saved embark profile then I get the message that none of these items are available; otherwise they simply aren't there to add.  I've been trying to embark in a small region, 5x5 area, along a stream or lake with some soil layers, in temperate or cold climates.  So it's nothing extreme that would seemingly disqualify those items.  In 40d and before, these items were always available regardless of where I embarked.
     The only file alterations I've made other than basic changes in the init. file are: turning off weather and economy and removing the [aquifer] tag from sand.  The world gen. changes I've made to the region are: reducing the years to 100; reducing the z-levels above ground to 5; removing the Bottom Layer and removing the Cavern Layers.  Again, I don't seem to have made any major change that would delete all the seeds and booze.

If there is something I can edit to fix this, please let me know.  I've tried re-installing to no avail.
 ???

Logical2u

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: no seeds or booze on embark
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2010, 07:22:10 pm »

Right, so since you removed Cavern Layers, the dwarven civ you're affiliated with can't actually ever get underground plants, since they only naturally occur in caverns.
This account is defunct - please contact me through other means.

Fisbik

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2010, 07:43:05 pm »