Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Getting magma from a pipe  (Read 1014 times)

Maulrus

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Getting magma from a pipe
« on: February 04, 2010, 05:02:31 pm »

K, so I'm a noob working on my first magma-bearing map. There's got to be some way to dig into any level of the pipe without putting a miner at risk. How can I do that?
puppywhirrrrrrl

Flaede

• Bay Watcher
  • Beware the Moon Creatures.
    • View Profile
Re: Getting magma from a pipe
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2010, 05:05:29 pm »

only channel downwards.
the magma does not behave like water (it is a "chunky" fluid), so unless you pressurize it, it will not flow upwards through the hole like water would.

this usually leaves at least a few places on a magma pipe where you can channel downwards and hit magma. If you prep drainage tunnels beforehand this method can be expanded even further by knocking out the one separating wall.
Toady typically doesn't do things by half measures.  As evidenced by turning "make hauling work better" into "implement mine carts with physics".
There are many issues with this statement.
[/quote]

Talanic

• Bay Watcher
  • Struggling author / pizza delivery guy.
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2010, 05:40:13 pm »

A little more detail for the unwary:

Prepare a path to the magma that is above the tube that you intend to fill with magma.  Note that magma flows fairly slowly after its initial burst out of the pipe; you don't have to worry too much about it reaching your fort quickly, but you'll want the tube prepared before you breach the pipe.