Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: That was fun!  (Read 1530 times)

Corinthius

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
That was fun!
« on: February 07, 2010, 12:27:06 pm »

Just got to try out my awesome spike trap for the first time. Two-squad siege came by. Picked off three merchant guards, but otherwise, I escaped unharmed. Most of my dwarves were busy, so my timing was slightly off, and two goblins got through. However, over all, I'd say it was a definite success!

Before:

And after:

dralloss

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: That was fun!
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2010, 12:45:20 pm »

So I'm guessing those are spikes on the ground that raise up with levers? I'm rather new to the actual defense part of DF. I've spent all my time learning how to make a fortress operate smoothly. I should probably revisit that though :)

Shrike

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2010, 12:48:25 pm »

Ah, yes. One way to increase your entertainment value is to make it all fortifications and then train siege operators on catapaults firing into the area from long distance. Sure, they'll miss like crazy, but it's worth it when every so often, a goblin finds there's a big rock where it used to have a torso.

Corinthius

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2010, 01:02:28 pm »

@dralloss you got it. Set the lever to be pulled {R}epeatedly, and the spikes go up and down and up and down. =]

@Shrike that's would be an awesome addition! I actually have two catapults that I used earlier in the fort to remove rock, maybe I'll put them back into use...

Shrike

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: February 07, 2010, 01:12:39 pm »