Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Looting a fallen comrade  (Read 1683 times)

capnbishop

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
Looting a fallen comrade
« on: January 01, 2010, 11:22:27 pm »

I'm new to DF (finally got around to trudging through the tutorials so I can play this great game), so I'm still learning how a lot of this stuff works.  Anyway, something happened that confused/shocked me and I'd like to know exactly what it was.

I got a message saying that one of my hunters was cut down.  I look at the tile where the body was and it listed a few "dwarf chunks".  That was amusing enough, but then all the dwarves from within the fortress drop whatever they're working on and run out to the body.  I wasn't sure what was happening, but it looked like they all went to morn their fallen comrade and carry his body away.  Nope.  They looted everything on him and left the naked carcass to rot in the sun.

What the hell happened?  Does this mean I need to obtain more clothes for my dwarves, otherwise they have to resort to looting or something?

Phantom

• Bay Watcher
  • Asiatic Asian
    • View Profile
Re: Looting a fallen comrade
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2010, 11:31:28 pm »

Many have lost forts to that kind of thing...

Except my Human Fort.

Rotten

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2010, 11:35:10 pm »

Nah, dwarves are just scavengers. They will always do that, as long as they are set to item hauling. If you don't want them to loot (middle of a siege, for instance), d>b>d or k>f forbid the items. Also, they will bury him if you build a coffin (mason's workshop>p, then build>n). Make sure to set it to burial (q over it>b).
True, but at a certain velocity the resulting explosion expels invader-bits at fatal speeds. You don't want to be dropping trogdolyte-shaped shrapnel bombs into your boneworks.
Only in Dwarf Fortress...

bmaczero