Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Protocol for using other work in your mod?  (Read 507 times)

Retro42

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Protocol for using other work in your mod?
« on: October 15, 2009, 11:23:46 am »

Hello!

I'm new to the DF modding world and I had the above question come up.

I'm making a mod it is using ideas/raw info that others have done.  In some communities this would mean I would have to contact and ask permission.  Others I'd just have to cite the people in the readme.  Still others its damn near a capital offence.

What's the best way around here?  Don't want to upset anyone.  If all else fails I can always just keep it inhouse for myself if its too much a problem.

Mephansteras

• Bay Watcher
  • Forger of Civilizations
    • View Profile
Re: Protocol for using other work in your mod?
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2009, 11:28:24 am »

Usually you can just give them credit, although it's probably nicer to ask permission ahead of time.

Using stuff from other mods is common, though, so at least you don't have to worry about us siccing the hammerer on you for it. ;)
Civilization Forge Mod v2.80: Adding in new races, equipment, animals, plants, metals, etc. Now with Alchemy and Libraries! Variety to spice up DF! (For DF 0.34.10)
Come play Mafia with us!
"Let us maintain our chill composure." - Toady One

Retro42

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2009, 12:02:47 pm »

Good to know.  I like my kneecaps.

I'm mainly just taking a couple different items people have already scripted and using those instead of creating my own versions from scratch. 

I always worry about that one because too many communities kill the modding scene by making it a sin to even consider touching another persons idea.

Bricks

• Bay Watcher
  • Because you never need one brick.
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 15, 2009, 12:44:50 pm »