Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: 2D in later versions?  (Read 1036 times)

jerank

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
2D in later versions?
« on: September 06, 2009, 11:55:53 am »

I’ve been playing Dwarf Fortress for several months know, and I find I enjoy it a great deal for its immersive depth. Currently I’m trying out the Dig Deeper modification, but this is not the focus of the topic. While playing it I began to wonder about other possible modifications that might exist. After reading Boatmurdered, I was depressed at the bad A.I present in those early versions, but also mesmerized by the gargantuan fortresses that were possible on single map levels before 3D came about. Are there any modifications around that return the game to its 2D map style, with everything on a single vast Z-level, rather then multiple much smaller, fiddlier ones?

jaked122

• Bay Watcher
  • [PREFSTRING:Lurker tendancies]
    • View Profile
Re: 2D in later versions?
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2009, 01:28:31 pm »

Nope, this is beyond the scope of modding for roughly any game.

Angellus

« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2009, 03:19:51 pm »

I do not know about this for sure, but I feel like having a larger area size since 2d, and I'm not meaning the z-levels.

You could just ignore the z-levels and embark next to a mountain?
You will probably not have the guarantee that there will be anything worthwile in there (no magma, probably, unless you got a volcano :)) but you can always pretend  ::)

Chewykittens

• Bay Watcher
  • Never befor has the letter "c" been so appetizing
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2009, 04:04:24 pm »

Could you be happy with the last 2d version of the game? Anyone know which one that is, cause I'd like to try it.

The13thRonin

• Bay Watcher
  • Profession: Handsome Rogue
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: September 06, 2009, 06:48:00 pm »