Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: That Eternal Abstract: Justice  (Read 1568 times)

Cespinarve

• Bay Watcher
  • Lege lege lege relege labora et invenies
    • View Profile
That Eternal Abstract: Justice
« on: July 20, 2009, 10:30:20 pm »

Greetings, very new player here, played through most of the Complete Newbie tutorials etc.

I have a question about Justice. I know that using q I can designate a room as being available for Justice (why it doesn't label itself as a gaol or jail like a bedroom I'll never know) via metal cages, and presumably any other cages I place in the room will be accepted as cells. My question is this: how is it possible for me to arrest and imprison dwarves? On the Justice menu is a Soap Maker, and a list of some crimes. His name is in purple (Is this significant? He's not a noble, an administrator or anything of value. I don't think he's dead.) I have a Captain of the Guard and a full compliment of Guards. I want to imprison this dwarf, can I influence this at all?

... adding to the difficulty (he said, mortified), is that the question is a tad, er... academic. Owing to a delusion that I could simply run water right off the map, and a an inability to figure out wells (Second Question: I have a well, over water. I have Health Care enabled on Dwarves. How in the hell can I get water to sick Dwarves?) I am afraid i was forced to restart the map, so I'm really asking my question in the hope that some kind souls are willing to muse aloud about the nature of Justice and Dwarves and my inability to get my Butchers to work.
Nice one, not sure when I'll be feeling like killing a baby but these things are good to know.
This is why we can't have nice things... someone will just wind up filling it with corpses.
Arrakis teaches the attitude of the knife — chopping off what's incomplete and saying: "Now it's complete because it's ended here."

Skorpion