Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Problem with modded reaction item.  (Read 467 times)

Grendus

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Problem with modded reaction item.
« on: July 20, 2009, 12:28:58 pm »

So I modded in a reaction to make wooden maces from the smelter. The reaction takes a wooden log and creates a wooden mace from the standard mace template. The problem is every time my dwarves try to pick up and carry a wooden mace they walk incredibly slow, like the mace is very heavy. I tried this earlier with a modded cudgel weapon (a direct copy of the mace item just did less damage) and I had the same problem.

I'm relatively new to modding the raws, so I'm not sure if I missed something basic that would cause reaction items to be incredibly heavy. I haven't seen dwarves move this slow since I assigned an unskilled hauler to move a bin of steel bars to the trade depot.
A quick guide to surviving your first few days in CataclysmDDA:
http://www.bay12forums.com/smf/index.php?topic=121194.msg4796325;topicseen#msg4796325

mission0

• Bay Watcher
  • He is on a mission!
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with modded reaction item.
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2009, 01:14:07 pm »

I think it's a common glitch with creating weapons through the smelter. Giving them outlandish weights. I remember seeing it awhile back on another thread but can't remember where.

Perhaps someone who knows a bit more about modding could explain it better.
Oh wait, "insane" doesn't work on this forum.
Crap, can't think of an alternative.

Grendus

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2009, 01:22:58 pm »