Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: History Importance  (Read 1190 times)

crazedwarf

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
History Importance
« on: February 17, 2009, 04:25:28 pm »

Hi guys! As a noob I've got the game down pretty much now, but there's one thing I'm unsure about. When making a world, it seems people put importance on the history part, and that's where I'm a bit confused. Why is this an issue? For me, I use small seeds, so the only thing I know to look for history-wise (correct me if I'm wrong) is variation of civs and maybe a nice population of all of them. Sorry if this is an obvious question.. I've been reading the forums and wiki for weeks and nothing really explained it for me. Thanks.

Mephansteras

• Bay Watcher
  • Forger of Civilizations
    • View Profile
Re: History Importance
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2009, 04:31:48 pm »

History can have subtle but strong effects on the game. Especially when it comes to resources available for your fortress through trade. For example, if the dwarves did poorly throughout history, you may find that your home civilization is very small, and has a limited set of resources to provide. Certain critical items like bauxite, flux, or coal could be completely unavailable outside of whatever you have at your fortress. A successful civ during world gen will have a much larger territory and therefore a wider range of goods.

Since you play on smaller maps, you can often get situations where certain races aren't available at all. Lack of goblins makes for a quiet, uneventful fort. If the humans didn't make it, you lose out on their trade caravans. Lack of elves rarely bothers most players, but can still have an impact. Especially on a treeless map.