Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: dragon antics  (Read 3127 times)

glitchopo

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
dragon antics
« on: September 09, 2008, 01:06:10 am »

Hi,

I'm fairly new to DF so I shat myself when I had my first dragon show to lay waste to all my hard work. I have a couple of moats around the fortress but I was in heavy "storage mode" so a lot of the dwarves were outside and the outer bridges were down.

Needless to say the dragon showed up breathing fire all over the place, interesting through large stockpiles of goods which were left unharmed although the ground was severely scorched! There are only two underground areas in this part of the frotress, a small graveyard and my magma furnaces/workshops. He torched one dwarf on his way down a few z levels to the magma workshop room. There he destroyed all the workshops and furnaces. He then decided to wander downstairs into the live magma level where he was burned into dragon dust. Actually he just kinda disappeared - not even a whimper, just gone.  ;D

I just have to say that was very cool and very fun and I had to tell someone who might think it was cool too (I know I was damn lucky too).

Lord Dullard

• Bay Watcher
  • Indubitably.
    • View Profile
    • Cult: Awakening of the Old Ones
Re: dragon antics
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2008, 01:30:17 am »

That's pretty awesome, although it stinks that you at least didn't get dragon bones/skin/skull out of the deal.

Ascii Kid

• Bay Watcher
  • This is just a test
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2008, 07:30:18 am »

You should try fighting one in Adventure mode: 1 step at a time means the firey breath comes out in an avoidable dodge.
"...you'll have you live with your GRANDmother and pick beans!"
-Homer

Skizelo

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 09, 2008, 08:47:31 am »

Though you'll still end up dead as you like.