Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Two Worlds  (Read 1032 times)

narskie

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Two Worlds
« on: July 24, 2008, 10:20:24 pm »

Well I started playing DF with little knowledge of the game.  I saved it and came back later knowing a lot more and wanting to start a new fortress.  I did, but it ended up creating an entire new world.  Now I can't seem to do anything other than either play the two old fortresses on world A or B, or start a new world.  Since the first fortress was mostly a learning experience, I'd prefer to get rid of it now (and the world associated with it).  How?

Second, is it normal that I can't try adventure mode yet?  Do I have to let both fortresses die and/or delete them to experiment with it adventuring?  Or do I have to somehow generate a third world just for adventure mode, since the other two are associated with fortresses?

Thanks for any help regarding this.  I'd like to keep the latest fortress on world B, but would also like to adventure on that world if possible, although I'm not sure if I'm willing to sacrifice the fortress I've worked on just to try adventuring.  Have my cake and eat it too  ;D

Aqizzar

• Bay Watcher
  • There is no 'U'.
    • View Profile
Re: Two Worlds
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2008, 10:23:18 pm »

If you want to go back and forth between fort and adventure, yes, you'll need different worlds.  Each world can only have one fort or adventurer active at a time, so in order to go from one to the other, you have to either abandon the fort or retire the adventurer.
And here is where my beef pops up like a looming awkward boner.
Please amplify your relaxed states.
Quote from: PTTG??
The ancients built these quote pyramids to forever store vast quantities of rage.

narskie

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2008, 10:44:49 pm »