Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: discuss: Future Proofing of (memory hacking)Utilities  (Read 1743 times)

sphr

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
discuss: Future Proofing of (memory hacking)Utilities
« on: December 04, 2007, 11:21:00 pm »

(edit: reformatted some stuff due to code section not being wrapped and causing a wider-than screen-width page)
Not really a modding post,  and more of a tools/utilties post.  But since there are not tools/utilities subforum, and tool/utility topics seem to end up here, so this is where I'll drop it.

BEFORE YOU CARRY ON:
This is meant for present/potential tools/utility developers only  Think that nobody else will be interested.  So save yourself the pain of reading a long post with gibberish-like codes.

==(Limited) Future Proofing of (memory hacking)Utilities==

I am just getting started with re-learning the memory hacking all over again.

One problem I find with trying to create a utility is the rapidly changing version and the need to keep things updated, recompile and upload.

On the user end, they have to deal with multiple versions of the same tool that works for one version of dwarf fortress (I don't know about others, but I keep my previous versions around, in case there are insurmountable bugs in the lastest versions etc etc.)

What I'm thinking of is, instead of hard-coding/static-compiling all the memory offsets into the binary, why not add an optional means of loading a new "Memory Map" from a text file?  If there is any latest updates to the memory map in the latest version, the "config" file could be edited into wiki and people can just copy and paste the config data to make their tools work with latest version if the attributes the tools used are defined.