Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Cooking Overhaul!  (Read 553 times)

Lord_lemonpie

• Bay Watcher
  • disco-froggin' since 2013
    • View Profile
Cooking Overhaul!
« on: October 22, 2022, 02:08:26 pm »

For almost a decade, I’ve enjoyed Dwarf Fortress greatly. When I started playing as a 13-year-old kid I greatly enjoyed the rich world, with the near-infinite amount of randomness. The details on engravings, statues and decorations were among my favourites, and I absolutely adored looking at the disgusting minced horror meals my cooks would throw together for my dwarves to enjoy. Yet, after the passage of time, I started noticing that the kitchen industry in the game lacked quite some depth compared to other elements. Raw meat that stores indefinitely as long as it is stockpiled, cooks that do nothing but mince and mince, finished meals ending up mixed in barrels to be retrieved years later, these barrels of nightmare-goop being so incredibly valuable that they are able to buy out entire caravans and dwarven preferences being so obscure that they are completely unsatisfiable in 90% of your population.