Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: channel fort? (not sure if I'm supposed to post here or gameplay questions)  (Read 1030 times)

mclarky96

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile

Is it possible to carve a fort out of the ground by, say, channeling? or would the walls created by channelling collapse depending on how tall they are? I'd like to do some sort of pit fort, or like a spire that goes downward rather than upward. Possible? I'm pretty new to fort mode, so lemme know if it's possible but would be too hard because of my skill level.

Also, if it is possible, is there like a certain environment I should try to do it in? I'd like if it was entirely made of stone but not sure if I could find a place that's like that's also economically viable.

sketchesofpayne

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile

I suppose you could do a 'CNC router' fort.  No need to worry about walls collapsing, just unsupported floors (as in hangin in mid air attached to nothing).  Probably use a mountain biome with some altitude so you have a lot of z-levels of stone to work with.  Maybe go into advanced world generation and put more z-levels between the surface and the first cavern layer.

mikekchar

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile

Yep.  I do it all the time.  If you only channel into the soil layers (leaving soil) it will even regrow grass and trees, allowing you to build authentic hillocks.  Or you can sculpt out fortress, either in a pit or on the side of a mountain.  Really just up to your imagination.  It takes some practice to do it without killing your miners though!

Starver

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile

As already mentioned, it's perfectly doable. Soil layer, and even sand, does not slump, and is immutable (without actually triggering cave-ins by dis-attaching layers) to degrees an Earthly engineer would already have been hospitalised with heart palpitations, just getting to that stage.