Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Creature guilt  (Read 926 times)

tohkai

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
Creature guilt
« on: March 08, 2018, 12:20:44 pm »

Hello.

I normally don't suggest things to developpers, I know they got plans to follow, and as a dev, I don't know dwarf fortress a project very well. Plus, things are sometimes impossible without major changes (vs minor benefits) and sometimes it's simply "hey wouldn't it be nice if" suggestions, and when you think about it, it just wouldn't be nice.

Now what made me come here is, Dwarf fortress IMHO isn't /that/ hard. (semi long justification):
Spoiler (click to show/hide)

In my opinion, it's handling the dwarves themselves that is too easy. They are practically robots, will survive through anything and move on without too much emotion. Now what I would REALLY like, is having the dwarves, depending on their personality, trying to cope with their (your) acts, and having psychological downsides to the actions you take.

I thought about it and the most important part, in my opinion, should be guilt. Which isn't an easy thing to achieve in a computer program - everything in DF is so generic, I wonder if the game itself really knows what happened in some cases.

But let's consider this:

- There's a goblin siege.
- you decide to close the bridge. Some dwarves are still outside, but the risk of having goblins in is greater than the reward of saving your best wood burner.
- you order to pull the lever. The draw bridge close. Urist mc wood burner is killed.
- the dwarf who pulled the lever now feels guilty - possibly enough to fall into depression, alcoholism, withdraw from society, etc.

Now I agree it sounds like a very hard thing to achieve, especially since there's millions of other ways for a dwarf to kill another without "wanting to". That's why I also thought about how it could be handled, game wise.