Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: My first fort (43.05) - Dispatch from a wee noober  (Read 475 times)

Aditia

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
My first fort (43.05) - Dispatch from a wee noober
« on: January 10, 2018, 06:57:47 pm »

Since I am a bit stuck with my fort, thought I'd post an AAR of my first fort for my first post!
Hello DF community, nice to meet you  ;)

I am a complete newb and I did do a few hours of watching videos and reading Wiki before embarking.

So far I have had probs about 60-80 hours of enjoyment out of this fort, which is amazing value!

I hope this AAR may be a bit entertaining and maybe motivate someone to play(again)!

Before you read any further, if this really turns you off; I did savescum 3 times because I wanted to apply lessons learnt to my current fort instead of starting over:

1. Learnt that when killing a legendary beast, one wants their Dwarven Warriors to arrive at the fight as a squad, and not one by one; so how to use a staging area
2. Learnt that Marksdwarves will happily jump out of the fort to engage a besieging force in glorious hand to hand combat; learnt to build an overhang on my battlements
3. Had a civil war in my fort that wiped out half the fort. I was happy to keep playing, but while burying the dead the filthy goblin spies in my Tavern had alerted their brethren that I was vulnerable and a Max. sized army showed up. I could have defeated it but I did not realize that to use my Macelords in an outnumbered scenario effectively, I would want to fight in a corridor. As my militia commander died with 12 dead goblins at his feet, I decided to 'reload'. I had no clue what caused the civil war, but I decided to prioritize putting up a Justice system and that did the trick somehow.

I am currently stuck/unmotivated due to:

- My stockpiles are a mess and tons of stuff is stuck in bins, especially in my metal workshop