Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Modding SOS, please  (Read 739 times)

baconsoul123

• Escaped Lunatic
  • Hey, i'm just a guy interested in programming :)
    • View Profile
Modding SOS, please
« on: March 05, 2017, 05:56:35 pm »

Hello there, I just joined the forum although I have been playing Dwarf fortress for a couple months now. And my god this game is fun! but when I discovered that you could mod the game I LOST MY MIND. I searched up on YouTube how to do basic modding and to my surprise I found nothing. So I searched the wiki and i was confronted with this:
          creature_standard

[OBJECT:CREATURE]

[CREATURE:DWARF]
    [DESCRIPTION:A short, sturdy creature fond of drink and industry.]
    [NAME:dwarf:dwarves:dwarven]
    [CASTE_NAME:dwarf:dwarves:dwarven]
    [CREATURE_TILE:1][COLOR:3:0:0]
    [CREATURE_SOLDIER_TILE:2]

and then this:

[BODY:HUMANOID:2EYES:2EARS:NOSE:2LUNGS:HEART:GUTS:ORGANS:HUMANOID_JOINTS:
    THROAT:NECK:SPINE:BRAIN:SKULL:5FINGERS:5TOES:MOUTH:FACIAL_FEATURES:TEETH:RIBCAGE]
    [BODY_DETAIL_PLAN:STANDARD_MATERIALS]
    [BODY_DETAIL_PLAN:STANDARD_TISSUES]
    [BODY_DETAIL_PLAN:VERTEBRATE_TISSUE_LAYERS:SKIN:FAT:MUSCLE:BONE:CARTILAGE]

And just when I think I got the hang of it another concept comes flying by and smacks me square in the face. To be honest I don't think any tutorial is specific enough, I don't even know how the format for the "raw" files work. So i'm asking you god like modders to answer my call, to help me create my own stuff instead of going to paste bin and copying everyone else's work. thank you for your time and consideration.

bloop_bleep

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Modding SOS, please
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2017, 08:27:24 pm »

Check out the modding guide on the DF wiki here: http://dwarffortresswiki.org/index.php/DF2014:Modding