Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Three Fortresses lost to undead heads  (Read 1385 times)

Stevesciguy

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
Three Fortresses lost to undead heads
« on: November 10, 2016, 09:25:54 pm »

So, I started playing df one or two months ago, and have recently decided to take on the bigger challenge of evil biomes. However, at each fortress I've tried, it ends with all my dorfs fighting themselves to death with invincible heads. I tried embarking with a mace or hammer dwarf instead, but my miners will go on and decapitate the reanimated wildlife. Most recently, the skin of the head of a llama (not all of the skin, just the head) reanimated. I was going to try dfhack and just delete the offending heads from existence, but there isn't a version for 43.05 yet. Is the any other way I can deal with them? Thanks.

Fleeting Frames

• Bay Watcher
  • Spooky cart at distance
    • View Profile
Re: Three Fortresses lost to undead heads
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2016, 11:58:41 pm »

Civilian alert and abandoning an expendable dwarf as military to keep it from following. Cage traps. Chained-up live baits and locking doors in drop zone as timing fits, keeping them entombed forever. Cave-ins. Physical separation. Magma. Icing. Obsidanizing. Atomsmashing.

And of course once your macedwarves pulp something it stays pulped. Though this doesn't work for butchered hairs, so meat industry is somewhat harder on those forts.

There is a dfhack alpha out, but not sure it supports exterminate.
« Last Edit: November 11, 2016, 12:00:29 am by Fleeting Frames »

DiacetylMorphine

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2016, 06:36:11 am »

hey, i used to play on evil biomes and most of the tricks i learned come from "furnace clan" (a series you can find on youtube).