Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Dunking spiders and sacrificing peasants at Diamondwill  (Read 1417 times)

AlienChickenPie

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Dunking spiders and sacrificing peasants at Diamondwill
« on: December 13, 2007, 12:50:00 pm »

Cog Satzasit was the typical expedition leader. A miner by profession, he saved up some gold, went to the Mountainhomes Institute of Trade to learn how to run a fortress for profit and pieced together an expedition to a promising area.
Maps showed a convenient climate, a brook flowing in a canyon and a volcano.
The location they chose was halfway up the mountain, at a safe distance from the volcano and overlooking the brook.
As the wagon made its way across the mountain to the chosen campsite, Bim Serid, the fortress mechanic, noticed junk scattered around the brook, and dozens of kobolds. "Good thing we chose the high ground," he said. "That should buy us some time before we are forced to exterminate them."
Thikut, the expedition's hunter and a close friend of Cog, jokingly suggested that they dig a channel across the mountain and above the canyon, route the lava into it and watch as the kobolds burn. Bim jokingly drew up some plans and verified that the plan was indeed possible. Cog jokingly approved the plan and started digging. He and Bim Zuglarasen, the second miner, spent the next months digging the channel. One day, Cog struck the stone one final time and sent magma oozing through the channel. He ran up, sealed the corridor leading to the channel and ran to the meeting hall, shouting "I've done it! Project DIAF is complete!". Thikut, who spent most of his time outside and didn't know about the dig, spit out his -Dwarven Ale- and the entire expedition couldn't stop laughing.