Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: I dont know what I'm doing! (atom smasher)  (Read 1079 times)

eazy

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
I dont know what I'm doing! (atom smasher)
« on: May 16, 2015, 05:35:12 pm »

Hi, Just newbie here,

Trying to make this thing work to kill a werelizard.  After 5-6 werebeast attacks and retired fortresses I finally managed to contain one in my hospital. Problem is he's still there and I want him dead. So Ive built a bridge, lever and connected them. Now I cant get the damn werelizard to move underneath it. I've tryed making a burrow but he just sits there on his bed taunting me. When I removed his bed he then got up and switched to another room.

Here's a pic;
Spoiler (click to show/hide)

Inevitability

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: I dont know what I'm doing! (atom smasher)
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2015, 05:57:32 pm »

I'm not sure if I can read your tileset, but first of all, for an atomsmasher you need a drawbridge that is set to "raise". It works like a wall when raised, and besides that one-tile wall in your picture in the hospital doorway I can't see any.
By default a drawbridge is setto "retract" but you can set the raising direction before building it, using the wadx(sic!)
Now for getting a particular dwarf to a particular location:
Assigning the dwarf to a burrow afaik only achieves that he may only take jobs inside the burrow.