Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Levers not working properly  (Read 660 times)

MerkerBenson

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Levers not working properly
« on: January 28, 2014, 04:42:55 pm »

Hi, I'm new to DF, just started my 2nd fortress(after utterly failing the first one of course because I hadn't made any proper military :D).
So, I'm trying to make a well water source, and I've dug out the infrastructure, built the bridges(the wiki says they work better than floodgates) but whenever I try to link the lever to a bridge(pressing b) it switches my view to the surface and deselects the lever, I can't select the bridge.

Any way to get around this? Or advice on how to build a proper well?

Also, any advice on getting rid of fungus? it's everywhere....

Cheers

Dan Duncombe

• Bay Watcher
  • DwarfCorp, Established Since 24!
    • View Profile
Re: Levers not working properly
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2014, 04:45:07 pm »

Well, when you set the task for the lever of adding a new bridge, I believe it zooms to the nearest bridge. On the right of the screen I believe there will be a menu of available bridges that you can scroll through with either the arrow keys or + and - keys, can't remember which. Hit enter when you are on the right bridge and you should be good to go. Also, make sure that it is a raising bridge, not a retracting one!

MerkerBenson

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2014, 05:06:26 pm »

That is the issue, when I press b for the list of bridges it tries to zoom me to the first ever bridge at the entrance to my courtyard but halfway it loses the lever menu and I can't assign any bridge. Any solution? Is there a way to temporarily disable mouse control from in-game until I can set the lever? Seems to be related to mouse control.

Thanks

MrsStick

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2014, 05:07:51 pm »