Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: This will be !!FUN!!  (Read 771 times)

WarGrunte

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
This will be !!FUN!!
« on: September 21, 2013, 10:09:04 am »

So, I decided to play the Legend of Forgotten Realms mod of dwarf fortress after hunting for something to spice up dwarf fortress mode game play. I downloaded the mod, found the manuals and lore files, proceeded to spend the next two hours reading up on all of the information. So, I make a map, find a good embark site and create a good caravan before going forth to strike the earth...and then...well, let me explain some things: I am not a complete newbie at dwarf fortress, but most of my fortresses never last long through a combination of over extending resources, random animal men wandering into my new fortress and braining most of my dwarfs, (and the most deadly one to my forts) immigrants waves in the high teens/low twenties. But a few of my fortresses survived for a while, a few years at least, so I know about the ambushes and other attacks that can wipe out a fortress. Thanks to my lurking on the forums, I know about the randomly named but quite awesome forts like Boatmurdered or Battlefailed.

So, to my utmost surprise and horror, as I read through the usual "Strike the earth" speech from the embark screen, I came upon the randomly generated name of my fortress: "Peacefulhope". With a rising feeling of dread, I shall now go forth and attempt to colonize this site, though I am prepared to fight for every inch of ground that my dwarves take. For with a name like Peacefulhope, what can a dwarf really suspect will happen?

jonanlsh

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: This will be !!FUN!!
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2013, 11:15:06 am »

Don't tempt fate my dear friend.