Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Potential Bug?  (Read 608 times)

Simca

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Potential Bug?
« on: November 12, 2013, 12:12:02 pm »

So, this could (probably) be a bug, but I don't want to post it to the bug report system without making sure it is a bug and not already known (because I'm a noob).

Two problems with this save: http://www.mediafire.com/download/mo1asrc7qyeeygu/region1.zip

1. There is an army of Goblin Axemen at the bottom center of the map (a siege), but they have only moved a few tiles and will not path into my fort. My dwarves are literally forty tiles away, barely out of their sight range, and can clearly enter/exit on their own. Why won't they attack?
2. My dwarves will not dump the items on the ground level (some wood, a couple bars, and a large gem).

EvilBob22

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Potential Bug?
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2013, 01:03:07 pm »

I don't think either are actual bugs.

If you reclaim a fortress, any opponents still there will be marked as friendly.  They will even help you defend.  That is, until members of their home civilization attack.  Then they immediately turn hostile.  I think you might be seeing the same thing with your goblins.

As far as the not-dumping goes: Go to (o)rders -> (r)efuse -> dwarves (i)gnore refuse above ground (at least I think that is the setting).
I will run the experiment to completion anyway, however. Even if the only reason why there is a punctured equilibrium in the fortress is because I have been brutally butchering babies
EDIT: I just remembered that dwarves can't equip halberds. That might explain why the squads that use them always die.

Simca

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2013, 01:41:55 pm »

Dumped items are refuse?!

As for the goblins, this fortress has never been abandoned/reclaimed - this is the initial embark.