Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Military Leaving Stations and death pit question  (Read 380 times)

MrCactus

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Military Leaving Stations and death pit question
« on: August 27, 2013, 06:55:38 am »

I'm relatively new to the game but understand most of the mechanics fairly well (I think). But when I'm under siege by goblins and I station my troops so as to force the goblins through trap ridden corridors to capture/kill as many as possible without my dwarves getting harmed some of my military dwarves simply walk all the way out of the fortress and try to kill the goblins themselves, this usually results in death unless the dwarves in question are some of my higher level military dwarves, how do I keep them closer to their station and stop the unnecessary deaths?
And secondly I've recently built a 19 z-level death pit yet all the goblins and most of the animals that I've thrown into it have survived and sometimes not taken any damage at all, does the pit simply need to be deeper or is there something more to it?
And finally this is my first post on the forums, so apologies for any idiocy or failure to understand basic game mechanics and/or the workings of the forum, thanks for any help!

donpost

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Military Leaving Stations and death pit question
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2013, 07:06:02 am »

Hi mate I'm just as new as you are but I think I can answer your pit question: I read on the wiki that falling from height into pits will rarely kill especially if they are falling onto the bodies of previous creatures thrown in. Let me see if I can find the article...

http://dwarffortresswiki.org/index.php/DF2012:Mass_pitting

Under "Empty room":