Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: a rather odd starting site  (Read 478 times)

GeneralValter

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
a rather odd starting site
« on: February 29, 2008, 09:02:00 pm »

I'm still somewhat new to this game, and I've pulled off a few regular old normal fortresses. I usually abandon them just due to running out of space for improvement, with all my ideas and projects completed. So, I've decided to try working with magma now, and I've found what seems to be the perfect starting site... (sorry, I don't know how to export location images, I'll just list the cool stuff)

Sand: Check.
Magma: Check.
Obsidian: Check.
Trees: Check. (heavily forested  :D)

Problems:

Saltwater
Aquifer

I haven't tried a game with an aquifer yet, and I'm especially worried with the salt water present. Will the aquifer be salty as well? Also, it's not actually just magma, it's an entire volcano in my starting location. Does the igneous rock of the volcano stay dry despite the aquifer?

PS: I haven't tried an aquifer yet, but I do know about the article on passing it in the wiki. I just need to know how magma/salt water reacts with it.

quot;I guess all of the fairy tales were about people having their crap stolen." -Toady One

Deon

• Bay Watcher
  • 💀 💀 💀 💀 💀
    • View Profile
Re: a rather odd starting site
« Reply #1 on: February 29, 2008, 09:12:00 pm »

The aquifier is salt too.

There should be a not too tough "wall" of warm obsidian which penetrates the aquifier, so you shouldn't worry about grand projects.

Just hve enough drinks, and you're ok.

▬(ஜ۩۞۩ஜ)▬
✫ DF Wanderer ✫ - the adventure mode crafting and tweaks
✫ Cartographer's Lounge ✫ - a custom worldgen repository

GeneralValter

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 29, 2008, 09:25:00 pm »